Research Topics : 

The team Mechanics of Cells in Complex Environments (MC2) conducts interdisciplinary research at the interface between mechanics, physics and life sciences. The experimental, theoretical and numerical skills of the team allow to address different complex systems, biological or bioinspired, at different scales:
  • Mechanics and dynamics of capsules, eukaryotic cells and subcellular structures, tissues, biofilms
  • Cell-surface and cell-matrix interactions
  • Biological and biomimetic fluid dynamics
  • Motility in complex environments
  • Growth and morphogenesis
  • Non-linear dynamics and cell signaling 
vignette2019-wbg-v1a.jpg
cytoskeleton.png
mc2_mahamar_and_guy_gbe.png

Research Tools :

The research is based on various experimental tools including
  • cell culture and biological sample preparation
  • microfluidics
  • advanced techniques in microscopy and mechanical characterization of complex media (AFM, TFM, confocal microscopy, rheometry).

On the theoretical side, we develop data-driven models as well as minimal mechanistic models. The model analysis is based on analytical tools, comprehensive numerical simulations and parameter continuation techniques.

Scientific Network :

The team is strongly involved in the LabEx Tec21 as well as the federation of mechanics Fed 3G.  It is also attached to the GDRs MFA, AQV, ISM, MNF, and Mécabio-Santé and relies on collaborations with biologists.

Thèmes de Recherches

L’équipe Mécanique des Cellules en Milieu Complexe (MC2) mène une recherche interdisciplinaire à l'interface entre la mécanique, la physique et les sciences du vivant. Les compétences expérimentales, théoriques et numériques de l'équipe permettent d’aborder différents systèmes complexes, biologiques ou bioinspirés, à différentes échelles : 

Outils de recherche

La recherche s’appuie sur des outils expérimentaux variés qui incluent

  • des moyens de culture cellulaire et préparation d’échantillons biologiques
  • la microfluidique
  • des techniques avancées en microscopie et caractérisation mécanique de milieux complexes (AFM, TFM, microscopie confocale, rhéométrie).

Sur le plan théorique, nous développons des modèles basés sur les données ainsi que des modèles mécanistiques minimaux. L'analyse du modèle est basée sur des outils analytiques, des simulations numériques complètes et des techniques de continuation des paramètres.

Réseau scientifique

L’équipe est fortement impliquée dans le LabEx Tec21 ainsi que la fédération de mécanique Fed 3G et le GDR “Réparer l'humain”. Elle est également rattachée au GDR MFA, au GDR AQV, au GDR “Liquides aux Interfaces” et au GDR “Micro Nano Fluidique” et s’appuie sur des collaborations avec des biologistes et médecins.